top of page

ABOUT St. Aedan's

St. Aedan's Church is a Roman Catholic parish church in McGinley Square, Jersey City, a few blocks south of Journal Square. It is part of the Archdiocese of Newark, and is currently staffed by priests from the Jersey City Jesuit community.

From its beginnings as a predominantly Irish Catholic parish in the early 1900’s, St. Aedan's now has a congregation of diverse ethnic and national origins: Filipino, Central and South American, Caribbean, Indian, African, Italian, Irish, and others, all brought together by their Catholic faith. To read more about the history of St. Aedan's, click here.

VISIT St. Aedan's

St. Aedan's Church is located at 800 Bergen Ave., Jersey City, NJ 07306.

Parish Office. The parish office is located on the ground floor of the rectory next to the church. It is open from Tuesday to Friday, 10 AM to 3 PM.

Parking. On weekends, cars may be parked in the school lot behind the church (enter through the gate on Tuers Ave. between Mercer St. and Vroom St., next to the school building) or in Saint Peter's University Lot 8 (also along Tuers Ave. between Mercer St. and Vroom St., across from the school building). 

Public transportation. The church is accessible via NJ Transit buses 80 and 87 and the Bergen Avenue Bus, all of which stop right in front of the church; and NJ Transit buses 10 and 119, which stop a block away, on Kennedy Blvd. and Glenwood Ave.. The church is a 10-minute walk from Journal Square, where many other NJ Transit buses and PATH trains from New York City and Newark also stop.

 

PRIESTS at St. Aedan's

Rocco Danzi, SJ

Fr. Rocco Danzi, S.J.

Parish Administrator 
rdanzi@saintpeters.edu

English, Kreyol, Español

Andrew Downing, SJ

Fr. Andrew Downing, S.J.

adowning@saintpeters.edu

English, Italiano

Fr Joe C.jpeg

Fr. Joe Costantino, S.J.

Superior, Jersey City Jesuit Community

jsrcostantino@gmail.com

English

John Hyatt, SJ

Fr. John Hyatt, S.J.

jhyatt@saintpeters.edu

English, Español, Kreyol, Français

image0.jpeg

Fr. Luis Tampe, S.J.

ltampe@saintpeters.edu

English, Español

STAFF at St. Aedan's

Meet the staff
IMG_7395.jpg

Marissa Balasa

Parish Administrative Assistant

mbalasa1@saintpeters.edu

English, Tagalog

Joseph Hill headshot.jpg

Joseph Hill

Director of Music, Saint Peter's University 

jhill3@saintpeters.edu 

Paulo Tirol

Paulo K Tiról

Director of Music, St. Aedan's Church

vtirol@saintpeters.edu

English, Tagalog

bottom of page